Update: LibraryCon is done!

Oh man…where have I been, blog? Busy. And…more busy. I feel like a little chapter of sorts is over for my illustration. Inktober came and went, and so did the LibraryCon I just participated in. So, I am using this time to set some goals and make some plans for this  illustration stuff!

LibraryCon was super fun. The Kenton County Public Library’s Erlanger branch puts this on every year, though I’m not sure how long they’ve been doing it. One of the organizers found my Etsy page and invited me to participate based on the Stranger Things art I had in my shop:

So I agreed to…and then used this opportunity to kind of fill out the Stranger Things fan art portfolio. Season 2 came out October 27th, and I got busy watching and drawing. I had drawn 3 characters after season 1 (Eleven, Barb, and Dustin), then made 4 more inspired by season 2. Whew! Here are the additional ones (and Dustin).

After the illustrations were done (or actually simultaneously, really), I got busy prepping for the show. I made some business cards, created and got a banner printed, made pricing signs, printed prints, cut prints (so much cutting), inserted prints into sleeves I purchased on Amazon, bought a tablecloth and 8×10 insert holders, got some additional display items for the table, and put together a look book of other ink drawings I’ve done. Whew again! Yep, I was busy.

Saturday was the day – and here’s the table setup:

The Con was fun. We got there early and set up. Greg had his Star Wars prints at one end of the table as well. There were a few other artists there, and I had a great time chatting with them and talking about possibly doing the Lexington ComicCon that they all participate in. The library fed us Chipotle, which was unexpected and nice. I made three sales (selling 11 prints). I also got to chat with some kids and parents about art, which was super fun. Many friends stopped by. It just really couldn’t have been a more positive, awesome experience. Creative immersion.

I’m pretty inspired now, and have been spending time today working on my illustration strategy. In no particular order, I’m working through:

  1. How to further manage my online presence (twitter, instagram, blog)
  2. My online portfolio strategy (website)
  3. Etsy strategy  (zomg the holidays are coming!)
  4. Twitch Creative streaming strategy (twitch.tv/StephanieSmithCreative)
  5. Commissions
  6. Future Art/Comic Conventions

Honestly, tomorrow I need to get busy back on commissions. Yikes.

So yeah! I worked on my Twitch Creative channel information today, and kind of made a decision about when I am going to stream and what subjects. I am going to break it into some categories: Etsy work, Commissions, Skills Practice, and Fan Art. I’m super happy about this categorization. I need to know what I’m doing / what my end goals are.

Next up, I’m going to work out a commissions schedule. I have quite a few, and they are all coming up to being due. So priority there! I know what I’ll be streaming Monday night…

Leave a Reply

