Reviewing Yourself = Hard

So far I’ve known I want to sell some sort of prints in a shop, as well as original art eventually. I’ve decided on Etsy as a shop, and I’m researching different print-creation options. While waiting for more samples to come in, I thought I should get a jump on what prints I’d actually want to have made so I can prepare the art files.

As I began to think about what the heck I’d actually pay to have made, knowing I probably won’t recoup that money any time soon, the decision proved to be a tough one.

First, as I mentioned, I don’t expect to actually sell anything for quite some time. Maybe some family members will purchase something, but I am fully aware that just because people ask if I have a shop or say “you should sell your art!” enthusiastically (as if I’d suddenly be able to quit my day job from my sales), I’m not guaranteed anything. Once the shop is up, I know I have a lot more work ahead, researching how to sell things, tap into markets, etc. But it’s all part of the process and the bigger plan: getting better and maybe become a children’s book illustrator.

To choose 10 prints (Etsy’s recommended shop opening volume), I had my husband help me – an eye that is “removed from the situation” that could look at my stuff more from a market point of view and tell me what he saw. What would people actually buy and why? Just because something may look cool doesn’t mean you can sell it. (I do think there is an important place for that work though, which I’ll get to later.)

What we came up with is pretty simple: I draw stuff for kids. However, my husband had a better, sexier way of putting it: “Children’s art for the discerning adult.” We started by just looking at my website, going through all the categories I have there and writing down things that looked like something someone might buy. And then after thinking about the importance of having a “look” or category to be in, we weeded out some of the drawings. What was left was animals and monsters.

CreativeSmith: a shop specializing in colorful ink drawings of animals and monsters doing the unexpected. Or something like that.

I was somewhat dumbfounded. That isn’t the kind of art that I drool over online. It’s not the kind of art that I follow from artists on Instagram, Twitter and Facebook. Turns out my inspirations are just that – inspirations from other types of art, that I’m not directly creating myself, but am highly influenced by somehow. Interesting.

It was a great exercise, and I now feel a little more prepared to start the shop with something, and then build it on that foundation. Product: children’s art. Market: Parents buying products for their children’s life. It’s a start anyway.

I have other ideas that I want to get in to, eventually, as I continue to carve out illustration in my day, and practice and create more. And the work that looks cool but isn’t “sellable”? Well that will be how I have the most fun with all of this: interacting with people, showing flexibility and variety in my portfolio, and exploring styles and mediums.

Here is a snapshot of the first ideas I have for the chosen pieces. They all need some production and color work before I make prints. I guess I’ll start getting busy.110316_firstshopideas

 

I draw a lot of elephants, apparently. Also, I really enjoy drawing monsters, so I hope I can make that sell.

And now, I leave you with a picture from a 30 minute sketching session I did yesterday on mimes. They creep me out, but everyone on facebook really seemed to like these guys! I bet the limited color helps.

110316_mimessketches

 

 

One thought on “Reviewing Yourself = Hard

  1. What’s the age group that you want to draw for? That should help in what group of parents you may be inviting into your shop, monsters might limit you unless they are funny monsters like Cookie Monster. He’s one of my favorites even as an adult today.

    Like

Leave a Reply

